I am currently 6 sleeps away from Italy…

…where it’s 30 degrees C – woo-hoo!!!  Can’t wait – though recent news reports about air disasters make me slightly jittery!

Last night we drove past a landmark I hadn’t seen for well over 20 years which used to fascinate me as a child.  On a night out with our closest posse of mates to a charming country pub in the Worcestershire village of Romsley, we passed what was formerly the Bluebird Toffee factory.

Sounds thrilling, I know, but as a kid whose favourite book was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory it used to enchant me that a confectionary product should be created in a village near home.  When our old family home in Dudley was on the market, my parents used to drive out to Romsley – and other rural villages – of a weekend to look at houses.

Bluebird Toffees are apparently now manufactured in Hull, and the Romsley works is now Solus Garden and Leisure, although its gates retain the old ‘bluebird’ logo as a vestige of history.

Nath and I went for a brisk five-mile stroll around Little Aston and Four Oaks this morning, pre-rain – just the thing for clearing away cobwebs and setting me up for the rest of the day.  I do like my walks.

I’m off to see Cabaret tomorrow night, at Birmingham Rep, starring Samantha Barks, who came third in the BBC’s recent ‘Nancy’ competition I’d Do Anything, in the Liza Minnelli role, Wayne Sleep as the Emcee and Jenny Logan – most famous as the ‘Shake n Vac lady’ – as Fraulein Schneider.

Leave a Reply

