Oklahoma…OK!

My mum and I thoroughly enjoyed South Staffordshire Musical Theatre Company’s production of Oklahoma this afternoon, at the Grand Theatre in ‘Hi Ho’ Wolverhampton.  I love am-dram.  I love theatre in general.  I love being entertained.

I actually won the tickets, in a competition in the programme of this particular group’s 2007 show, Singin’ in the Rain.  Since Singin’ in the Rain is one of my all-time favourite films, I easily answered the 10 questions about it.

I was told back in December that I’d won the tickets for the company’s next production, and can’t believe how quickly this came around.  Unfortunately, though, there wasn’t an Oklahoma-themed quiz in the programme this time around!

Whilst in town I did a spot of shopping.  I bought a Christening present for little Tom Howard, the very cute son of two of our closest friends.  I really hope Tom, or rather his lovely parents (since he is only nine months), love the gift next Sunday.  I can’t say what it is, of course, in case they’re reading!

I’ve been to a few shows lately actually.  Last night Nath and I were at Symphony Hall in Brum to see the CBSO playing the works of the great film composer John Williams.  They really are a superb orchestra, a credit to our city, and that stirring film music is simply breathtaking heard live, especially with the wonderful Symphony Hall acoustics.

We heard the legendary ‘feem toons’ from such classics as Indiana Jones, Superman, Jaws, Harry Potter, Jurassic Park, JFK, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Schindler’s List, ET and of course Star Wars.

During the latter, we were treated to an appearance by some Storm Troopers and even Darth Vader, whose menacing presence loomed behind the choir stalls, conducting along with the CBSO’s MD Michael Seal!  I love it when classical musicians have a bit of fun like that.  Just goes to show classical does not have to equal highbrow and inaccessible.

On Monday (the 6th) I saw one of my favourite 80s bands, OMD, also at Symphony Hall, with my friends Ros and Warren.  I’ll always have a soft spot for Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, who were the first band I ever saw live, back in 1993 when I was but a callow gal of 16.

Well 15 years on, they are as brilliant as ever.  Andy McCluskey truly is the king of dad dancing, and is as energetic and passionate at 49 as pop stars half his age.

I’ve already got a few things booked for next year too.  I’ve got another three at Symphony Hall – Anton du Beke and Erin Boag, the CBSO playing the works of Gershwin and the CBSO again playing music from Oscar-winning movies, conducted by Carl Davis – and then the Strictly Come Dancing live tour at the NEC.

Leave a Reply

