Tissington Trial

I am still rather saddle-sore following our 23(!)-mile bike ride along the Tissington Trail yesterday!  We arrived in Ashbourne at 10:30 and went to Hartington and back – a distance of 11½ miles each way – ouch!! We had a cup of tea at Hartington then turned back.  It was a sunny day, but a bit cooler than I thought it was going to be and on our return route we had the wind against us so it was really quite breezy.

I was in serious pain by the end.  My legs were fine, but my neck and bum were so numb.  I was almost in tears.  The last couple of miles were like torture.  But then when we’d finished and I experienced the blessed relief of tearing my sore fanny from the saddle, I felt brilliant about myself.  It was like the euphoric, self-righteous feeling I get at the end of one of my Peak District treks.

Last time we were up there, when we stayed for a weekend nearly a year ago, we went from Tissington to Hartington, which was ‘only’ 16 miles in total so we did really well.

I slept for nine beautiful hours last night.

Leave a Reply

