The writer’s trance

I need to crack on with writing some stories. By the end of this week, I want to have written a new story and come up with ideas for my next two, which I will write in June and July respectively. I am aiming to take write one short story per month and send it to a magazine. I am terribly short of inspiration, though. I am starting to slightly panic.

The disadvantage, if you can call it that, of having had one story accepted is that I am now putting greater pressure on myself to get more into print. Having one printed is not enough. I can’t rest on my laurels. By the end of this year, I want to ideally have had at least one other piece accepted for publication. I have to build on my success. I will feel so disappointed if I fail to do that. It will feel like a step backwards.

Whenever I am intent on creating a new piece of writing, I actually go into a sort of trance. I’m unsociable when I’m like that, and can’t talk to people. Any kind of interruption into my concentration and flow of ideas is an irritant! Pathetic as it may sound, it also tires me out terribly.

I wish I didn’t harbour this draining yearning to write; my life would be so much easier without the urge to create literature. I think what I need is confidence; what I produce may have no pretensions to be Shakespeare, but I need to stop making apologies for it.

2 Comments

  1. Juliet said,

    June 20, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    I feel your world, like it is mine, it is mine. Just hang in there.

  2. leighm123 said,

    June 23, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Thank you for taking the trouble to comment Juliet. It’s always good to hear from fellow writers. I will have a look at your blog in more detail.

    Leigh


Leave a Reply

