OU Memories

I have been rereading my Open University notes from the Start Writing Fiction course which I completed a year ago. I do this every few months or so, to refresh my memory of the useful pointers provided and also to boost my confidence by looking back on the positive critiques I received.

It also helps fire my imagination and spur me on to try and achieve great things with my current novel, The Four Matthews. It reminds me that I CAN DO IT!!

I kept a diary to record my feelings and progress during the course, and even after this short period it is quite revealing reminding myself of the highs and lows I experienced. It all seems like ages ago. I took risks with my writing then, often working well outside my comfort zone, and felt I was rewarded.

Ironically I actually received correspondence from the OU today, recommending further areas of study I may wish to pursue. I do not intend resurrecting my academic career, however. Proud as I was of my coursework, and my 76% mark, I found studying stressful.

Leave a Reply

