Fun Running

I am now the proud owner of an ‘I Conquered Cardiac Hill’ T-shirt!  We completed Sutton Fun Run yesterday in 1 hour 35-40 minutes (not sure of precise time yet – results due to be published on website during the week).  The starting gun fired promptly at 11:10, but because we were well back in the crowd of 6,000 entrants I think it was about 11:15 by the time we actually reached the start line.  We crossed the finish line at 12:50.

I am over the moon with that achievement, considering we only took up running seriously three weeks ago.  I feel I did my best.  I’m sure my husband Nathan could have gone faster but he was held back by me!  To be fair to him, he wanted us to run as a team.  I still feel we did really well and I personally could not have done any better.

In training we have been averaging five miles an hour, and right on target we reached the five-mile mark, in the middle of Sutton Park, after exactly an hour yesterday.

My brother-in-law Nick finished the run in a phenomenal 1 hour 3 minutes and my sister-in-law Kristie in 1 hour 15 mins.  They are super speedy and fit, whereas Nathan and I were the types who always bunked off PE at school.  Shame we didn’t go to the same school really – we could have played hookey together.

This was my third fun run, but the first I ran as opposed to power walked!  As usual, it was a wonderful day with a super atmosphere.  It feels as though the whole town turns out to cheer you on.  Once again we saw some wonderful costumes: Elvises, leprechauns, Spiderman, clowns, bees, Smurfs and Spongebob Squarepants, to name but a few.

Leave a Reply

