Smurfs For Sale!!

Well it’s worth a shot!!!

I have a collection of 45 Smurfs and 1 cottage in good condition, which I collected in the National Garages promotion in the early 80s, but which I am now very keen to sell, either as a job lot or individually.

Anyone genuinely interested, please message me.  Let me know if you’d like to see my complete list or more detailed information/close-up pictures of individual figures.

I’ve added one or two pics below (click on the images to enlarge them):

The entire group

The Smurf cottage

A close-up of one of my favourites - Angler Smurf

Bobsled Smurf

Sunbather and Swimmer Smurfs

Ice Hockey Smurf

By the way, I have made a conscious decision not to put pressure on myself to get any writing done in the immediate future.  I will definitely return to my manuscript of Majella Bracebridge and short stories for magazines one day, but for now my priority must be selling our property and – eventually – moving house.  I can do without extra pressure on myself.

In a way I feel sad to have made this decision, but also relieved.  The ideas will still be there for me when the time is right for me to pick it up again.  I just can’t think about stories at the moment.  I have to focus on our home and future.  There is no need for me to feel guilty and lazy when people ask me whether I have any stories in the pipeline.  I don’t “owe” writing to anybody.  I need to crack on with my life now.

Hopefully in moving house I will create a pleasant environment more conducive to prolific writing.

3 Comments

  1. Nina said,

    March 27, 2011 at 12:04 am

    But why is it that we DO feel ‘guilty and lazy’ when people ask about novels/stories and we know we haven’t touched them for weeks…even months? Nowt wrong with letting life happen for a little while, then coming back stronger. Hell – that’s what makes writers good anyway isn’t it; all these life experiences?

    Good luck with all the upheavals, and looking forward to reading more from you later on.

    Oh – and thanks again for the link, I’m incredibly flattered 🙂

    Nina xx

  2. leighm123 said,

    March 28, 2011 at 7:55 am

    You are so right about life experiences making one a better writer. I am going to have so much fun with the characters in my next novel when I eventually return to them. We’re just taking a short break from each other.

    I hope when I next write about them it will be from the comfort of a delightful new house!

    Don’t suppose you want to buy some Smurfs, by any chance?!? xx

  3. Nina said,

    March 28, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Hopefully the delightful new house will include a writers’ study 🙂 I have one, but it also doubles up as a spare room full of old handbags, photo albums, cuddly toys and broken computers (courtesy of my husband!)

    I actually had all the Smurfs myself when I was littler, would you believe? Actually, seeing yours posted here made me feel a little bit wistful…but I must be strong and not keep cluttering my house up with nostalgia! Have you tried eBay by any chance? I’ll also ask around my similarly nostalgic friends, just in case xx


Leave a Reply

