Fun run results

The results of the Sutton Fun Run, in which my husband and I partook last weekend, are in.  I scraped 2,986th place (out of about 6,000) with a time of 1 hour 36 minutes 48 seconds.

My husband Nathan finished 712th with a time of 1 hour 11 minutes 7 seconds, which I think is phenomenal.  He finished only 8 minutes slower than his brother Nick which, considering Nick is a PE lecturer, and Nath was never sporty until recent years, is brilliant.

The 8.5-mile course is pretty tough and hilly.  I felt I ran pretty well, though.  I can’t see me ever being able to better such a time.  Apologies if this is TMI, but my need for the loo spurred me on!  I really ought to have “gone” before setting off, but knowing the next set of portaloos were at the 5-mile mark (and not wishing to enter the bushes, the way many of the blokes did) induced me to run for my life.  Or at least my bladder.

I took it steady, doing little steps, drinking plenty of water, keeping my shoulders down and concentrating on my breathing.  As a result I ran nearly all the way.

Nathan and I parted company virtually as soon as we crossed the start line, so he could go off and get a really good time, but I didn’t feel alone because there were so many people and such huge crowds cheering everybody on.  There is always a brilliant atmosphere at these events.  I can’t tell you, though, how much of a blessed relief it was to rocket down to that finish line.

Leave a Reply

