What I did on my holidays

I am coming to the end (sadly) of a fortnight’s relaxing and enlightening annual leave, which I have thoroughly enjoyed.  It has been the longest time I’ve ever had off work without going away, and I have taken the opportunity to visit several visitor attractions and landmarks in the Midlands.

This reminds me of one of those “What I did during the summer holidays” essays we were always assigned to write on the first day of a new school year – which is deliberate as when I booked this time off I set out with the intention of enjoying a good old-fashioned “school holiday” style break, lying in bed late and going out to visit museums and the like.

I love learning; I would go as far as to say I devour facts.  I love history.  I’m afraid I was one of those insufferable swots who actually enjoyed school trips (they were about the only thing I did enjoy about school, though, since that was the most insufferable period of my life).

I must admit I miss writing.  My experiences these past couple of weeks have given me plenty of inspiration for future stories.  However, with all that’s occurring in my life currently I simply don’t have the time to devote to any projects for a while.

In the meantime, here are a few of my many piccies for your perusal:

Shugborough Hall

 

The Red House Cone Museum in Wordsley, near Stourbridge

 

Bantock House, Wolverhampton

Trentham Gardens, Stoke on Trent

Birmingham Back to Back Houses

Soho House, Handsworth, Birmingham

Witley Court, Worcestershire

Witley Court again

The National Memorial Arboretum at Alrewas

Along the Staffordshire-Worcestershire Canal at Wightwick, Wolverhampton

Leave a Reply

