Bumbling through zumba

And so last night I decided to have a crack at zumba, the Latino-inspired dance/aerobic craze, demonstrated here:

I know so many zumbaholics, and wanted to “see what all the fuss was about,” besides a desire to partake in another class during the week in addition to my beloved tai chi, to give my life a bit more structure and routine.

Hmm, I am not yet convinced.

To be fair, there were only four of us (it is holiday season, after all) in last night’s class, which is one of many in my neighbourhood.  So the atmosphere was not the buzziest, which is no reflection on our instructor who was great.

My coordination skills are pretty feeble, which doesn’t help!  I wasn’t exactly shimmying like Shakira (more like Anne Widdecombe actually).  I’m not quite sure zumba is going to be my “thing.”  I love tai chi (you’d never have guessed, eh?) and doing things in the gym, but following choreography at speed befuddled me somewhat!  By the time I had fathomed out a step, we were on to the next one.  And I haven’t quite mastered the whole “let your body go, don’t care what you look like” element.

I am not a dancer.  I think I prefer running on a treadmill and also “slower” activities which still give you a good workout, such as toning or bums ’n‘ tums.

I will persevere for a bit, though, as I don’t like to dismiss things too hastily.  Zumba is undoubtedly a bloody good workout, and I did leave feeling energised.

5 Comments

  1. Margaret Pincher said,

    August 26, 2011 at 10:38 am

    The Anne Widdecombe bit captures my attempts at Zumba totally – I don’t think I will ever be able to get the “whole” and when my lady shakes her body she seems able to shake individual bits – I just wobble all over. Still we do have quite a big class generally so it can be quite fun – stick with it. Margaret

  2. Junying Kirk said,

    August 26, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    Did you do that at Wyndley? It looks like something I’d enjoy but probably too physically demanding for me now. It looks fun though. Good effort by you, Leigh!

  3. leighm123 said,

    August 26, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    Thanks for the comments girls! Margaret, yes I know what you mean about the “wobbling all over” sensation, looking like I’m having a fit rather than anything approaching “sexy!!” Where do you do it at?

    No, it wasn’t at Wyndley Junying. Apparently that one usually sells out in about 10 minutes! This was at Holy Trinity Catholic Church Hall at the top of Sutton – lovely big hall actually!

  4. August 29, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    Excellent! lol! Love the Anne W reference!

  5. August 31, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    Now that is some cool literature.


Leave a Reply

