The Four Matthews by Leigh Mathers

At twenty-six, Naomi Ball has the world at her feet – literally.

She has just quit her job working for the boss from PR hell, and has high hopes of walking into a new career.  To that end, she is off on the historic 50-mile Four Matthews route.

The gorgeous Lyndon Hyde looks set to brighten up her holiday.  In him Naomi finds a kindred spirit, whose passion for walking and rural beauty she shares.

Join her on her life-changing week in the Shropshire and Staffordshire countryside, as she meets such engaging and eccentric characters as bat-loving Hazel Boden, garrulous Shane Craddock the Dieting Dustman from Dudley, the timid Salad Couple, Posturing Polly, the Reverend Ellery Crisp, Pat Codd, Alexandra McClowie, Trannii Minogue, Javier (AKA Colin) and Julian Crowfoot.

And find out whether Naomi and Lyndon are on the right path to love, or if for them there will prove too many insurmountable hills to climb.

5 Comments

  1. September 3, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    […] You’ll find the links over there on the left as usual, but to get you started off here is a quick link to the blurb: https://leighmathers.wordpress.com/2011/09/03/the-four-matthews-by-leigh-mathers/ […]

  2. Nina said,

    September 6, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    I still think ‘Trannii Minogue’ is just the most excellent name ever! Good to see ‘The Four Matthews’ again Leigh, but you MUST get on with Majella – I want to read more 🙂

    Nina x

  3. leighm123 said,

    September 20, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    Thank you Nina! Today I actually opened up the Word file for Majella Bracebridge, for the first time in months. Drippy as it sounds, it took a lot of courage to even do that. I went into Chapter 1, reread it and actually did some editing. For the first time in ages, I was overtaken by the urge to write; to create!!
    I am still looking forward to cracking on with this novel. It’s just that this year our priority was to move house, and I wanted to put all my energies into selling this place and finding a place to buy. Once I start writing, I go into a kind of trance and find it hard to focus on anything else but the writing (I’m sure you can identify with that). Hence I decided to leave it alone altogether so I could focus 100% on finding a house.
    But obviously things have not panned out as we’d have hoped, and I feel some resentment at having “given up” my main hobby, with as yet no reward for my sacrifice. I just want to write, right now! I want to write Chapter 2. I feel as though I should have more of a plan; it always scares me trying to write a novel when I haven’t plotted the course of the storyline; like setting out on a journey without a map. On the other hand, I just want to WRITE!! Perhaps I should just write Chapter 2; get some ideas out; take my proverbial pen for a walk across the page without worrying too much at this stage about where the rest of the story is heading?
    Anyway, I am currently rereading Small Fish, as it happens! Are you working on any projects at present? xx

  4. Nina said,

    September 28, 2011 at 9:38 am

    Hi Leigh! Sorry I’ve left it a bit late to reply – I requested to be e-mailed when a comment gets added, but for some reason I’m not getting updated.

    Well done for pressing on with Majella! I know just what you mean about being scared to revisit a ‘work in progress’ – for me it’s worry that I’ll realise just how much work there still is to do. And yes, I can completely identify with the ‘writing trance’ that renders everything else pretty much useless.

    For what it’s worth I think you’re bang-on about just letting your pen go for a walk…what’s the worst that can happen? You could just do that for now and then once you’ve sorted everything with your new house you’ll have a load of fresh new ideas to refine. (Regarding the house-stuff, I’ve been there – as no doubt you’ve been told the same by loads of other people! But hang in there…you WILL end up with the great place you deserve).

    I’m really flattered that you’re bothering to re-read ‘Small Fish’ – thank you! I’m entering it into a competition this weekend, actually – it won’t win, but all you have to do is send the first 5,000 words and I’ll consider it a triumph of sorts if I’m asked to send any more for the next stage of the competition! I’ve also sent off a couple of articles I’ve written, too. In a weird way I’m actually looking forward to being rejected, because it’ll mean I’ve started off on the road to “putting my money where my mouth is” as far as my attempts to be a serious writer are concerned.

    I’ve been enjoying re-reading ‘The Four Matthews’ too, but must insist that you keep on with Majella! If nothing else, I’m certainly looking forward to reading more. xx

  5. Sam Roberts said,

    August 24, 2014 at 2:51 pm

    I have just seen this blurb. It’s great. The sooner the novel gets published the better.


Leave a Reply

