40 things to do at 40

And so the countdown begins.  Well it’s a four-year countdown, but I’ve always liked to plan ahead.

I am not quite 36 but already planning my “40 things to do when I am 40.”  It’s a sort of bucket list, of new or unique experiences, some of them very small.  There will be nothing expensive or terribly daredevil on my list – don’t expect to see bungee jumping or white water rafting.  Where I possibly can, without being silly, I’m trying to think of ideas related to the number 40.

Below is what I have come up with thus far.  This is very much a work in progress, and I shall continue adding to it until I get to the elusive 40.  Any other (clean) suggestions would be welcomed.

– Plant a tree or something significant in the garden to mark the occasion

– Get a cat

– Get a second tattoo

– Self-publish a novel

– Have a party

– Have a nice holiday/weekend away somewhere

– Swim 40 lengths of a swimming pool (possibly for charity)

– Donate £40 to a charity

– Donate bone marrow

– Visit a cheese factory

– Have a personal shopper experience

– See a West End show

– Do a vineyard tour

– Do a cookery course

– Eat some new foods I haven’t tried before

– Go for a long walk (e.g. the Cotswold Way)

– Do a first aid course

1 Comment

  1. Nina said,

    February 18, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    Hi Leigh! Climbing a mountain is always a popular one… for me it’d definitely be Snowdonia rather than Everest! Will have a think about some more do-able ideas 🙂 – for myself too as I approach the big 4-0 too (scary) x


Leave a Reply

