Tatt 2

In honour of my next tattoo, which I have just booked for January as one of my 40 things to do at 40 (see list here: https://leighmathers.wordpress.com/40-things-to-do-at-40/), I thought I would re-share with you the story of my original inking, back in January 2002.

2002!!  I was a mere 25 then.  Tattoos were a relatively rare form of expression; now it seems like every other person you meet sports one.  It speaks volumes about the comparative popularity of tattoos then and now, that 15 years ago I didn’t need an appointment and was advised to “just turn up,” whereas this time around I have had to book a slot with an artist two months in advance.

Rereading what I wrote back then brought back vivid memories: my late dad’s misgivings (he never liked my tattoo); the “evil-sounding” whirr of that needle; the sense of anticipation in the waiting room; the gleeful feeling when I finally sat in the chair and told myself I was being silly worrying as nobody was forcing me to undergo this procedure.

It’s interesting that in the last sentence I vow never to get another inking, yet here I am nearly 15 years on about to mark a milestone birthday in exactly that way.  Well they do say never say never…

Anyway, enough waffle.  I give you Cat on my Shoulder:

https://leighmathers.wordpress.com/category/non-fiction/cat-on-my-shoulder/

Leave a Reply

